University of Canterbury

About the university

The University of Canterbury (UC) is a comprehensive, government-funded, research university located on a spacious and picturesque residential campus with 6 Halls of Residence nearby. Established in 1873 by scholars from Oxford and Cambridge, UC is New Zealand's second oldest university. Offering Bachelor's, Honours, Master's (research-based or coursework, including a number of one year programmes) and Doctoral degrees, as well as Undergraduate, Graduate and Postgraduate Certificates and Diplomas. More than 120 subjects across a wide range of areas including Commerce, Creative Arts, Education, Engineering, Forestry, Humanities, Social Sciences, Law and Science.

Key information

Locations Accomodation Facilities Key attractions

UC offers a variety of on-campus accommodation ranging from Halls of residence and apartments and houses. One of the off-campus accommodation options is the Waitakiri Village, a first year hall of residence which is located 7 kms from campus with easy access to public transport. Some students make private arrangements and Homestay (private board) with local people are also options.

UC has five Colleges - the College of Arts, the College of Business and Law, the College of Education, Health and Human Development, College of Engineering, and the College of Science. The University is ranked 211th in the World 2015 QS rankings.

UC is in the suburb of Ilam in Christchurch, New Zealand's second largest city, and the largest urban centre in the glorious South Island. Like no other place on earth, with it's friendly welcoming culture and stunning environment. Students experience a safe, relaxed lifestyle, within half an hour of the the breath-taking outdoors for which New Zealand and Canterbury are famous.

Photos (1/2)

Video (1/1)